Vakarchuk Ivan Olexandrovych

(06.03.1947 v. Stari Brătuşeni Edinetskiy district, Moldova) scientist, theoretical physicist. The politician and public figure. Dr. Of physics and mathematics. Minister of Education and Science of Ukraine (2007-2010). During the 1990-2007 and 2010 – rector of Ivan Franko National University of Lviv. His research interests include physics of quantum liquids, theory of superfluid helium, the theory of phase transitions and critical phenomena, physics of disordered systems, magnetic systems physics, mathematical methods in theoretical physics, general relativity and cosmology, the theory of stellar spectra. More than 350 scientific papers. The founder and chief editor of ‘Journal of Physical Studies “and the journal “Physics World”. People’s Deputy of the Supreme Soviet (1989-91). State Prize of Ukraine in Science and Technology (2000), M. Barabashova prize of NAS of Ukraine (2004 ). Honor of the President of Ukraine (1996). Chairman of the Board of rectors of higher educational establishments of Lviv (1996), Head of Western Ukraine physical department (1998-2002). Member of the T.Shevchenko Scientific Society, President of Ukrainian physical Society (2001), the Small Academy of Lviv ( 1991). Honorary Doctor of Crakow pedagogical Academy of Komisiyi Edukatsiyi Narodowa (2002). “People Ambassador of Ukraine” (2002). Vice-president of the Ukrainian Union of university rectors (2002), the Order of Merit II degree (2005), state award of the Republic of Poland “Officer’s Cross of the Order of Merit of the Republic of Poland” (2005), diploma of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine (2005), Honored Scientist of Ukraine (2006), P.Mohyla Ukrainian Ministry Award of Science and Education(2006). Hero of Ukraine with the Order “Golden Star “(2007), Award of the Ministry of defense of Ukraine” Badge of honor “(2007), National Order of the Republic of Italy” Star of Italian solidarity “with the honorary title” Commander “(2008), Honorary Doctor (DOCTOR HONORIS CAUSA) Wroclaw University (2009) academic awards of St. Vladimir Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (2009). Honorary Doctor of Philosophy (DOCTORIS PHOILOSOPHIAE HONORIS CAUSA) Ukrainian Free University in Munich (2010), the title DOCTOR HONORIS CAUSA Institute for Condensed Matter Physics NAS of Ukraine (2011), H.Skovoroda medal of National Academy of Pedagogical Sciences of Ukraine (2011), Honorary Professor of Ivan Franko National University of Lviv (2012), Hero of Ukraine (2007).